728 x 90

Government Buildings is a grand and imposing complex located on Upper Merrion Street in Dublin. It was constructed by the British in the early 20th century and was originally intended to be accommodation for the Royal College of Science and various government departments. However, it was completed just in time for the new Free State government to move in following independence in 1922.

In the 1980s, Taoiseach Charles Haughey made the decision to convert and refurbish the building to provide state-of-the-art accommodation for a number of government departments, including the Department of the Taoiseach, the Department of Finance, and the Office of the Attorney General. The renovation was met with criticism for its cost, but when it opened in the 1990s, the building received awards for its innovative architectural design.

Today, visitors can take free guided tours of the building every Saturday, subject to occasional cancellation for government business. During the tour, you can explore the building's impressive interiors, which feature ornate staircases, intricate plasterwork, and impressive artworks. The tour also includes a visit to the Taoiseach's office, which is used for official business and meetings with foreign dignitaries.